Company Board Executives

Mr. Tom Manjin

Board Chairman and Chairman of the Board Safety Sub-Committee

Tom Manjin was appointed as the Deputy Chairman and the Chairman of the NSPL Safety Sub-Committee on the 16th April 2020. He has practiced law in both the public and private sectors for more than 30 years combined. He served as the Deputy Chair of the PNG National Land Board from 2001- 2002.

He was involved in the review of the Civil Aviation Act 2000, to meet the CASA’s legal requirement as a result of the ICAO’s audit of PNG’s civil aviation regulatory framework in 2010, that culminated in the enactment of the Civil Aviation (Amendment) Act 2010 and that led to the proper establishment of NiuSky Pacific Limited (NSPL) referred to then as PNG Air Services Ltd, National Airports Corporation (NAC) and the Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA PNG). He further assisted CASA PNG in 2014 to draft the second amendment to the Civil Aviation Act 2000 (as amended). The Civil Aviation (Amendment) Act 2016 (No. 33 of 2016) was passed by Parliament on 29 March 2016.

Mr. Manjin holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Law from the University of Papua New Guinea and was admitted as a lawyer of the National and Supreme Courts of Papua New Guinea on 18 November 1988 and currently practices law fulltime as the Principal of Manjin Lawyers.


Mr. Michael A. Jelliffe

Deputy Chairman

Micheal A. Jeliffe was appointed Board member to NSPL on 6 October 2009. He has lived and worked in PNG most of his working life since 1971 in a number of aviation roles including operations, management, safety, training, and as a pilot, in third level and mission aviation organisations. Mr. Jeliffe has also worked in air traffic control, airline and charter operations in Australia.

He holds a Master of Arts in Intercultural Studies, Diploma in Quality Auditing (including Aviation Safety Lead Auditor), and Cert IV Training and Assessment in addition to an Air Transport Pilot Licence ATPL.


Captain Ted Pakii

Managing Director

Capt. Ted Pakii was appointed Managing Director and CEO of the NiuSky Pacific Ltd in October 2009. He was the inaugural Chairman of NSPL from January 2008 to September 2009. He was the Chairman of the former Civil Aviation Authority from June 2005 until January 2008 and a Board Director of the former PNG Civil Aviation Authority from May 2002 to December 2007.

Prior to his appointment, he was the Chief Pilot, Check and Training Captain on the Boeing 767 aircraft for Skystar Airways in Thailand for two years. Preceding that, Capt. Pakii served as the Boeing 767 Captain and Cadet Program Manager for Air Niugini for three years.

Capt. Pakii was a military pilot from 1979 to 1995, which included four years as a Flying Instructor with the Royal Australian Airforce (RAAF) before joining Air Niugini as a direct entry pilot in 1996.


Mr. John A. Uware


John Uware was appointed Board member to NSPL representing the Department of Treasury on 6 December 2011. He is also the Chairman of the NSPL Audit Sub-Committee. He was formerly the First Assistant Secretary for the Financial Management Division in the Papua New Guinea Department of Treasury.

He has been with the Department of Treasury for over 25 years. In March 2015, he was appointed the First Assistant Secretary for the newly established Strategy Division of the Department of Treasury.

Mr. Uware was previously a member of the Department of Treasury and Bank of Papua New Guinea Joint Sovereign Wealth Fund Technical Working Group. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting major) from the Papua New Guinea University of Technology.


Mr. Kevin Luana


Kevin Luana was appointed Board member of NSPL representing the Minister for Civil Aviation on 6 December 2011. He is a proxy ex officio Director on the Board of the PNG National Road Authority and is the Deputy Secretary (Technical Services) with the Papua New Guinea Department of Transport (DoT) since 2005.

Mr. Luana is currently the Chairman of both the DoT ‘Disciplinary Committee’ and the ‘Succession Planning and Development Committee’ and is also currently the Deputy Chairman of the DoT ‘Finance and Audit Committee’.

He holds a Bachelor of Science Degree from the University of Papua New Guinea and a Masters in Business Administration (Executive) from the University of PNG/Gitam University of Management (India).



Sharon Nalu

Company Secretary

Sharon was appointed as the Board’s Secretary on 9 July 2012.  Prior to her appointment, she was practicing as a lawyer with various private international legal firms for more than 8 years. Before her legal career, Sharon worked with the Bank of South Pacific Ltd and the National Broadcasting Corporation as a journalist.

Sharon has a Diploma in Media Studies (University of Papua New Guinea), a Bachelor of Laws (University of Papua New Guinea), Certificates in Post Graduate Legal Training (Papua New Guinea Legal Training Institute) and Readers Practice Course (Victorian Bar) and has a Master of Laws (Commercial Law) form the Monash University, Victoria, Australia.

She holds memberships with the Law Society of Papua New Guinea, The Victorian Bar (Melbourne, Australia), Aviation Law Association of Australia and New Zealand and the PNG Institute of Directors.


Scroll to Top